Polling for 36 Upper House Seats Underway, CM Adityanath Confident of Majority

Polling for the state Legislative Council in 36 Upper House seats is underway in Uttar Pradesh. The seats are spread across 35 local authorities’ constituencies. Counting of votes will take place on April 12. Nine MLCs from eight local authorities’ constituencies have been elected unopposed. These seats are Budaun, Hardoi, Kheri, Mirzapur-Sonbhadra, Banda-Hamirpur, Aligarh, Bulandshahr and Mathura-Etah-Mainpuri.

The BJP has set its eye on becoming the single-largest party in the Legislative Council. “After almost 4 decades, a ruling party will attain a majority in the Legislative Council…Anti-land-mafia task force is taking back encroached land from mafias, we won’t raze shanties of poor on encroached land until we rehabilitate them,” Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath said after casting his vote Saturday morning.

On the issue of hacking the Twitter account of the CMO, Adityanath said that the agencies are investigating the issue. The Rajya Sabha member and former Union Minister Shiv Pratap Shukla was also accompanying the Chief Minister while voting.

Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav on Friday demanded special arrangements for maintaining fairness and transparency in polls. He said that the manner in which CM Adityanath and other BJP leaders were making claims of winning all the seats raises a question mark on the government’s intention.

“For the sanctity of democracy and free-fair voting, we hope the Election Commission will discharge its constitutional responsibility. We hope the ruling party will not be allowed to rig tomorrow’s voting,” Yadav was quoted as saying in the statement by the party.

Yadav said, “The BJP government wants to impose an opposition-free and monopolistic rule on Uttar Pradesh by intimidating and luring village heads, BDCs and other voters through officials. This conduct of BJP is an alarm bell for democracy,” he claimed.

The assembly elections were swept by the BJP for a straight second term after it got the highest 41.3 per cent vote share, followed by the Samajwadi Party with 32 per cent votes, according to the Election Commission.

Meanwhile, The Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party Lohia (PSPL) Chief and uncle of Samajwadi Party Chief Akhilesh Yadav, Shivpal Yadav, cast his vote in Etawah. Shivpal, who went to vote along with his son Aditya, claimed that whoever he has voted for will win for sure.

Talking about the allegations by Samajwadi Party about using unfair means in voting, Shivpal Yadav said, “I do not see anywhere that there is any kind of discrepancy in voting. Voting is being done in a correct manner.”

Asked about his next step, he said with a smile, “Very soon the appropriate time will come and you (media) will get the information.”

The local body constituencies for which voting is taking place include Moradabad-Bijnor, Rampur-Bareilly, Pilibhit-Shahjahanpur, Sitapur, Lucknow-Unnao, Rae Bareli, Pratapgarh, Sultanpur, Barabanki, Bahraich, Gonda, Faizabad, Basti. Siddharthnagar, Gorakhpur-Maharajganj, Deoria, Azamgarh-Mau, Ballia, Ghazipur, Jaunpur, Varanasi, Allahabad, Jhansi-Jalaun-Lalitpur, Kanpur-Fatehpur, Etawah-Farrukhabad, Agra-Firozabad, Meerut-Ghaziabad and Muzaffarnagar-Saharanpur.

When Shivpal Yadav allied with the Samajwadi Party during the 2022 assembly elections, he had said that his goal was to make Akhilesh Yadav the chief minister and that is why he was leaving all the issues behind and coming with the SP. However, SP Chief Akhilesh Yadav gave only one seat to Shivpal Yadav and that too his own Jaswant Nagar seat.

Read all the Latest News , Breaking News and IPL 2022 Live Updates here.

Source link

Share post -

Live COVID-19 statistics for
Last updated: 7 minutes ago

यह वेबसाइट कुकीज़ या इसी तरह की तकनीकों का इस्तेमाल करती है, ताकि आपके ब्राउजिंग अनुभव को बेहतर बनाया जा सके और व्यक्तिगतर तौर पर इसकी सिफारिश करती है. हमारी वेबसाइट के लगातार इस्तेमाल के लिए आप हमारी प्राइवेसी पॉलिसी से सहमत हों.